Conceptual Self Portaits

To me, conceptual means something that describes or shows something about someone in an abstract way and helps you picture that part of that person.

Each of the photos taken show things that are important to me or things that have made me who I am. I hope that you can get to know/see the type of person I am and the things that I like after viewing my pictures.

The picture “earbuds” is meant to represent the love that I have for music. I’ve listened to thousands of songs and tons of genres throughout my life and I don’t plan on stopping expanding my “palette” anytime soon. I specifically chose to use earbuds to depict this because I am also sort of private about the type of music that I like because I think knowing the type of music someone listens to can cause people to make assumptions and stereotypes about them.

The picture “favorite book” is well, obviously a picture of one of my favorite books, but more specifically, a book that is part of my favorite series. I’ve always loved reading and it is one of my favorite hobbies. The “His Dark Materials” series by Philip Pullman is an amazing series and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an adventurous and magical tale.

The picture “Car Keys” is a picture of the keys to one of our family cars (my favorite one). I love driving, its so relaxing and fun to me. I’ve been driving since I was about 11 (growing up in a small town) and finally got my permit this last summer, I’m excited to finally get my license and drive all the time.

Lastly, the picture “ROCKS” though oddly named, is a picture of another of my favorite hobbies. I like collecting rocks and crystals. The ones included in the picture are raw amethyst that I got from an old amethyst mine out near Grand Junction and some quartz with pyrite chunks in it. I not only like collecting these types of rocks but I also like trying to stack them in intricate ways (can’t say i’m very good at it though lol).

One thought on “Conceptual Self Portaits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *